安德鲁饼店 可以吃的金漆招牌

安德鲁饼店  可以吃的金漆招牌

在澳门,每个人都有心目中「非去不可」的蛋挞名店。对我而言,每当甜食瘾头又犯的时候,必去朝圣之处就是路环 (Coloane) 的葡氏蛋挞创始店 – 安德鲁饼店 (Lord Stow’s Bakery)。

路环村值得推荐的美食不胜枚举,不过每当我浸淫在村里那惬意气氛、九重葛盛开及海岸线的美丽景致时,内心的声音总让我立马做出决定,乖乖抄捷径到安德鲁饼店报到,一尝那有澳门最美味之一盛誉的葡氏蛋挞。

安德鲁过世后,由妹妹艾琳 (Eileen Stow) 接掌饼店。艾琳分析起蛋挞头头是道:「好的蛋挞底部应该微微烘烤而不要烤焦。」她随手拿了一个蛋挞用指头敲了下底部说:「应该是硬的,过软或太湿都不行,敲下去要能听到中空的声音。」

我也从善如流敲了一下蛋挞,确认通过艾琳的品质控管后,事不宜迟我立刻一口咬下蛋挞,齿颊立刻为丰厚异常的内馅、层层分明及满布奶油的酥皮给包覆。那难以言喻的美味从我嘴里化开后直冲脑门,满足感可说瞬间充满全身。

艾琳形容哥哥的蛋挞有如传统葡氏蛋挞及英氏酥皮的完美结合一般。她说:「蛋挞内馅非常丰富-我哥称之为『吹弹可破、鲜嫩欲滴』- 搭配拿捏恰到好处的酥皮厚度,一口咬下即可透过味蕾感受这美味的完美平衡。」

安德鲁史托 (Andrew Stow) 1979年初到澳门时先当药剂师,当地人因其英国人的身份昵称他为「史托阁下 (Lord Stow)」。1980年代晚期他开设首家饼店,地点选在当时少有开发的路环村广场。为了让人一眼知道店里由谁当家作主,安德鲁决定沿用「史托阁下(Lord Stow)」这个简单易记的名称。

安德鲁当初想把葡氏蛋挞在澳门发扬光大,却苦无食谱。幸亏当时有个朋友教他制作酥皮,馅料他则自行发挥,融合葡氏蛋挞传统味道及经典英氏风味而成。尽管安德鲁本人把自己的杰作称为「史托阁下」的蛋挞,但当地华人却冠上「葡氏蛋挞」,名号不胫而走。

在我吞下第二颗蛋挞的同时,艾琳接着说:「我哥的名气可说是要拜当地华人所赐,他们真的把他当自己人一般对待。」

渐渐各方的尝鲜客蜂拥而至,甘愿大排长龙只为能带走一盒传奇的美味蛋挞。不久后香港及澳门也陷入蛋挞狂潮之中,街头处处可见打着葡氏蛋挞招牌的山寨新店开张。虽然仿冒品声势压过创始者的消息时有所闻,但在这里只能说姜是老的辣。安德鲁蛋挞的美味「秘诀」无人能敌,维持全澳门最受欢迎蛋挞店名气不坠。

艾琳回忆说:「想当初我哥向银行提交的计画书中,面包排名第一,蛋挞名次才为区区第五。他当时想说4个一盒装蛋挞,一天能卖出五十盒就不错了,但现在我们每天平均卖出7千到1万个蛋挞。」

我忍不住追问安德鲁蛋挞如此美味的秘诀何在?光靠食谱就能达到这个地步吗?

她说:「现在食谱里没什么秘诀可言- 或者说早就不适用了!对我们而言,制作流程从头到尾都坚持完美才是关键。我宁愿把整盘蛋挞丢掉也不要卖一颗劣质品。」

这正是让我一试成主顾的原因。每当想要大肆满足口腹之欲的时候,去安德鲁饼店绝对万无一失。我还习惯买个一两盒外带,让我回家也能继续这绝妙的美味之旅。

 

照片提供:David Hartung

Lord Stow’s Bakery

Lord Stow’s Bakery

In Macau, everyone has their go-to egg tart shop. When my sweet tooth starts making demands, I head to Coloane to pay homage to Lord Stow!

Coloane Village has a lot to recommend it, but whenever I’m there, enjoying the laid back atmosphere, the flowering bougainvillea and the views from the shoreline, it never takes long before I give in to my true heart and make a beeline straight to Lord Stow’s Bakery for one of the best Portuguese-style egg tarts in Macau.

“A good egg tart should be lightly toasted on the bottom, not burnt,” says Eileen Stow, sister of the late Andrew “Lord” Stow. She turns a tart over and taps the bottom with a finger. “It should be hard, not soft or soggy, and when you tap it, it should sound hollow.”

A quick tap of my own tart confirms that it passes Eileen’s quality control test, and without further delay I sink my teeth into the wickedly rich custard filling and its flaky, buttery pastry shell. The goodness travels in a rush from my mouth to my brain and the sense of satisfaction is immediate and complete.

Eileen describes her brother’s egg tart recipe as a marriage between the traditional Portuguese pasteis de nata and an English custard tart. “The filling is very rich—my brother called it the ‘wibbly wobbly’ filling—and the pastry has just the right thickness to make that perfect delicious balance when you bite in.”

Andrew came to Macau in 1979 to work as a pharmacist and was dubbed “Lord Stow” by the locals because he was English. When he opened his first bakery in the late 1980’s, a modest shop on the village square in sleepy Coloane, he decided to keep the noble title so people would know who was in charge.

Andrew wanted to bring the Portuguese pasteis de nata to Macau but had no recipe. A friend taught him to make the pastry, and he improvised with the filling, combining the best elements of the original Portuguese pasteis de nata with some classic English custard touches. Although Andrew himself referred to the pastries as “Lord Stow’s egg tarts”, the local Chinese christened his creation “Portuguese egg tarts”.

“It was the local Chinese who really took him to their hearts and gave him the fame,” Eileen tells me as I polish off my second tart.

People began arriving from all over to queue up for a box of the legendary tarts. It wasn’t long before Hong Kong and Macau were gripped by egg tart fever, with copycat stores opening on every street corner. Copies do sometimes surpass originals, but not this time. Nobody could quite match Andrew’s ‘secret’ recipe, and Lord Stow’s egg tarts continued to reign as the most popular in Macau.

“When Andrew did his first proposal for the bank, bread was number one on the list. Tarts were fifth,” says Eilleen. “At that time, he thought he might sell fifty boxes of four tarts in a day. Now we sell anywhere between 7,000 and 10,000 tarts daily.”

I ask her what it is that makes Lord Stow’s tarts so good. It can’t just be the recipe, can it?

“The secret is not so much in the recipe these days—I think that secret is out! For us, it’s about perfection, from the very first stage right until the end. I’d rather throw a tray away than sell a bad tart.”

That’s exactly why I keep coming back to Coloane. When it comes to satisfying my sweet tooth, Lord Stow’s is a guaranteed mission accomplished. Of course I always also buy a box or two to go, so that I’ll be able to accomplish more missions when I get home.

 

By Jean Alberti

Photography by David Hartung